My visit to Fancy Franks

I occasionally watch the show ‘You Gotta Eat Here’ hosted by John Catucci on the Food Network Channel. It is essentially the Canadian version of ‘Diners, Drive-ins and Dives.’ Since I live in Toronto, I’m always scoping out the Toronto locations. Fancy Franks was one of the places featured on the show. So this summer, my brother and I decided to visit the restaurant on our way to Kensington Market.

Fancy Franks is a eccentric new take on regular hotdogs. They have transformed popular meals into a hotdog format. There is a buffalo wings based hotdog as well as Korean BBQ style hotdog. I tried the FFGHD TX which has cajun spiced grilled onions, BBQ sauce, cheddar cheese, and chipotle mayo. My meal was amazing. I loved the spicy kick from the chipotle mayo, the crunchy and charred onions, and the bread was soft was perfectly cooked. It has a very good snap to it.

On the other hand, my brother got “Frankie Goes to Buffalo” which has chicken bacon, carrots, celery, blue cheese dressing, and buffalo wing sauce” and the “Eggs ‘N Bacon” poutine. That came with 2 sunny-side up, bacon, cheese curds and of course gravy. According to him. It was “really good.” He’s not much of a descriptive person, so that’s all I got from him.